The College of Regulators convenes for the second time

Follow by Email

The College of Regulators which convened for the second time, was chaired by the Commissioner for Simplification, Rosianne Cutajar. The College for Regulators is constituted under the Small Business Act Chapter 512 Article 13 with the aim to simplify the regulatory burdens on SMEs by increasing cooperation between the Regulating Entities. The law stipulates that three meetings are held every year.

The Chairperson stressed the important role of the College of Regulators in sharing best practices to reduce bureaucracy and simplify the existing procedures effecting small businesses. She also underlined that discussions should result in effective measures for the benefit of businesses and regulators alike. Improving the operating environment for SMEs, ultimately leads to economic growth for the benefit of citizens.

Senior Manager from the Ministry for Economy, Investment and Small Businesses, Brian Grima,  delivered a concise presentation to the attendees depicting the role and the purpose of the College of Regulators amongst which establish and maintain a regulatory co-operation system among its members; exchange information among its members on current regulatory issues and trends within the enterprise sector; ensure better use of regulation to promote efficiency; economy and competition within the enterprise sector and make recommendations to Government in respect of topics which have been discussed within the College.