Ryanair to operate twelve additional new routes from April 2018 – Air Malta and Ryanair in discussions on a future collaboration.

Follow by Email

Following discussions between Ryanair and the Maltese Government, Ryanair have just announced a major expansion of flight connections from Malta. This expansion will add twelve new routes operated by Ryanair starting from April 2018.

This was announced during today’s press conference addressed by Minister for Tourism Konrad Mizzi and Ryanair Chief Commercial Officer David O’Brein. In order to operate these new and additional routes, Ryanair will be allocating an additional aircraft based in Malta.

The additional routes will include the following destinations:

  • Aberdeen (Scotland)
  • Belfast (Ireland)
  • Gothenburg (Sweden)
  • Porto (Portugal)
  • Pescara (Italy)
  • Seville (Spain)
  • Tallinn (Estonia)
  • Naples (Italy)
  • Barcelona (Spain)
  • Bratislava (Slovakia)
  • Paris Beauvais (France)
  • Charleroi (Belgium)

Minister Mizzi expressed his satisfaction on this major expansion, describing it as a ‘vote of confidence in Malta’s tourism sector.’ He said that this investment means that Ryanair is confident to expect further growth in the number of tourists coming to Malta in the coming years.

Minister Mizzi explained that this complements the government’s vision to further increase Malta’s connectivity.

Also speaking about Air Malta, Minister Mizzi and Mr O’Brein announced that Air Malta and Ryanair are in discussions about a future collaboration with each other. Ryanair and Air Malta are considering collaboration on sales and marketing initiatives, including leveraging Ryanair’s web presence for sales.

The Minister thanked all key stakeholders involved, particularly the Malta Tourism Authority and the Malta International Airport, which were crucial to make this major investment happen.​